Catholic Mingle -- We bring singles together

Home >

Welcome to Catholic Mingle

All free guest memberships include a free photo personal ad, free browsing, free matching, and the events calendar. Subscribing members access live chat, message boards, mail, and more! To browse through thousands of photos and start meeting other singles, click here.

Introduction

I am outgoing, sophisticated, very articulate, funny, decisive. I like urban living and am not into country life or very big on men who are addicted to sports. I can dress down, but don't do jeans. I'm fairly well traveled and have lived many places in the U.S., but I very much like Oklahoma, where, unfortunately, Catholics are a true minority.

I don't need plans for my life or anyone's agenda. I'm allergic to complaining and have about zero tolerance for anger, drama, judgment, and emotional baggage.

I have a PhD education, but never finished my degree. I raised my son instead. I teach writing as an adjunct instructor and have several literary projects going at one time, and am a serious published poet. I enjoy music, performing arts, cultural events--e.g., I am a Philbrook museum member.

I have all kinds of friends, by the way, and found that most of my non-Catholic friends were the ones who stood by me through divorce. Hmmm. A commentary here.

I stay fit and work out 5-7 days a week.

I am an English Mass Catholic, devout and observant, but am NOT a match for Latin Mass or Charismatic Catholics. I set aside time for daily prayer, and go to daily Mass as often as I can. I'm not into Marian apparitions or much conventional piety, but I do like theology and spirituality.

I am looking for a professional fit man between 54 - 63 with a graduate level education. Adult children are fine, but not living at home. Friendship and chemistry are required. Kindness and charity a must.

Top

Basic Information

GenderFemale
LocationTulsa, OK, USA
Age62

Top

About Me

Height5' 8" (172 cm)
BuildI'll tell you later
HairDark Brown
EyesBrown
Relationship StatusDivorced with annulment
About ChildrenI have children and do NOT want more
Children1
Children home0
SmokingNever
DrinkingOn occasion
Religious ImportanceIt is very important
Religious ActivityMass when I'm available
EducationMaster's degree
Field of Workteacher
EthnicityCaucasian / White
Languages SpokenEnglish

Top

Fun Facts

MusicClassic Rock, Folk, Opera, Rock n Roll
Favorite bands and musiciansTom Petty, Rich Mullins, R.E.M, Gillian Welch
MovieAction/Adventure, Documentary, Drama, Foreign Films, Suspense/Thriller
Favorite movies and actorsBuck, Oh Brother Where Art Thou, A Fish Called Wanda, When Harry Met Sally
Favorite TV showsHouse of Cards, Madmen, Hell on Wheels, Sherlock
Outdoor activityTraveling/Sightseeing
Indoor activityCooking/Culinary arts, Movies/TV, Music, Opera/Theater, Politics, Weightlifting
My idea of a great tripLots of options here
FoodAmerican, Barbeque, Chinese, European, Indian, Italian, Spanish, Thai
Favorite restaurantsJuniper, Stonehorse, Kilkenny's, lots to choose from
PoliticsConservative
Schools attendedUGA, Athens, Ga; U of Dallas; U of Toronto
TimelinessI am usually on time
As for fashionI don't need advice!

Top

Match Preferences

AgeBetween 54 and 65 years old
DistanceWithin 50 miles of Tulsa, OK, USA
HeightBetween 5' 7" (170 cm) and 6' 8" (203 cm)
EducationProfessional degree, Bachelor's degree, Graduate Student, Master's degree, Doctoral degree
Relationship StatusSingle - never been married, Divorced with annulment, Widowed
Religious ImportanceIt is very important, It is somewhat important, It is starting to be important
Religious ActivityMass every Sunday
EthnicityCaucasian / White, Hispanic / Latino, Native American
SmokingNever, On occasion
DrinkingNever, Rarely, On occasion, Frequently

Top

Essays

What I'd like to do on a first date...

Well, let's call it a "get acquainted" event and not a date. No dinner and a movie.

Conversation over coffee or a glass of wine would be fine. Then let's see.

My past relationships have taught me...

Always tell the truth and avoid lies and fictions. Always make up before bedtime. Be devoted to each other and keep talking. Enjoy life as a couple. Don't over-plan life; it's just too unpredictable.

To me, being a Catholic means...

I believe it all. Prayer is for everyone. I make weekly adoration a part of my life. I think pretty clearly about things in general, including my faith, but I am not, overall, a conventional person.

Catholicism is not a middle-class enterprise. I don't like semi-pelagianism (too much of it around) because it puts achievements and morality (Don't get me wrong--the commandments are essential) above response and contemplation. If you don't get what I'm saying, just think about the structure of lectio divina.

In five years, I see myself

Research and write a biography (have begun!). Get a volume of poetry published. Create a blog on faith and spirituality.

My favorite Bible passage is...

The story of the pearl of great price. We ARE the pearl of great price and the Father sent his Son into the world to seek and purchase us at all costs.

One final thing I'd like to mention...

I am a political independent who tends toward the conservative, but I don't adopt any positions without thinking things through. I'm very non-judgmental and always try to accept people's limitations and weaknesses, including my own.